LONDON GRAMMAR – Californian Soil

Published by Radio Point on


Credit Crowns & Owls
“An uplifting return for the British trio, with Hannah Reid’s pure vocals floating over an electronic backing that heads towards classic house music” – The Times

“Baby It’s You carries the trio’s familiar atmospherics, but also a new, more colourful Balearic sound and vibe…dreamy” – NME

“Twinkly drums and gorgeous vocals from Hannah Reid pepper the track’s production, making us lust for filmic night-time drives. 10/10” – Wonderland

“Destined to soundtrack snogs on dancefloors” – i-D

“A hugely impressive return” – Clash

(London – October 2, 2020) – London Grammar today announce the release of their highly anticipated third studio album Californian Soil, for February 12 2021 on Ministry Of Sound. The brand new single, from the album of the same name, is out today and marks a certain transformation for the band. The announcement also arrives as the first single to be taken from the forthcoming album, Baby It’s You, hits the Radio 1 A List, following its release last month.

Californian Soil is the irrefutably beautiful third record from London Grammar, who’s success and longevity as a band has traced the British pop graph for over a decade. Over the years however, success was not all it was meant to be, namely for frontwoman Hannah Reid, who’s perpetual first hand experience of misogyny in the music industry weighed heavy. However, with the support of her two friends and fellow bandmates Dan Rothman and Dot Major, Hannah has found the power to become the leader she needed to be for this new iteration of London Grammar.

‘Misogyny is primitive,’ says frontwoman Hannah Reid, ‘which is why it is so hard to change. But it is also fearful. It’s about rejecting the thing in yourself which is vulnerable or feminine. Yet everybody has that thing.’

Reid continues, ‘This record is about gaining possession of my own life. You imagine success will be amazing. Then you see it from the inside and ask, why am I not controlling this thing? Why am I not allowed to be in control of it? And does that connect, in any way to being a woman? If so, how can I do that differently?

Californian Soil Track listing
1. Intro
2. Californian Soil
3. Missing
4. Lose Your Head
5. Lord It’s A Feeling
6. How Does It Feel
7. Baby It’s You
8. Call Your Friends
9. All My Love
10. Talking
11. I Need The Night
12. America

Following its premiere as Annie Mac’s Hottest Record last month, the band released their return single Baby It’s You, arriving as the first piece of music the band released since their 2017 #1 selling album Truth Is A Beautiful Thing. The single, which is co-produced by George FitzGerald, received mass critical acclaim upon release and hit an impressive 40 plus New Music Friday’s across the globe. The single is currently playlisted on the Radio 1 A List. The band also performed the single and a stirring cover of The Weeknd’s Blinding Lights as part of Radio 1’s Live Lounge Month, last week.

About London Grammar
London Grammar are Hannah Reid, Dan Rothman and Dot Major. They released their #2 double platinum selling debut album If You Wait in 2013, followed by their #1 album Truth Is A Beautiful Thing in 2017. To date they have sold 3 million records and 1 million tickets globally, whilst their music has been streamed an impressive 1 billion times. The band have garnered numerous BRIT nominations and have been awarded a prestigious Ivor Novello.

Throughout their career London Grammar have worked with an array of contemporary talent and brands including Paul Epworth, Flume, Dior and Disclosure, played an envious list of sold out tours and headlined festivals across the globe. Most recently their track Hey Now (Arty Remix) was featured on the hit show Normal People.

Categories: Release

Radio Point

Σε αυτόν τον απέραντο κόσμο της μουσικής, ο καθένας μπορεί να βρει αυτό που θέλει, μέσα από την τεράστια ποικιλία επιλογών που προσφέρονται. Από το καλοκαίρι του 1982, όταν ξεκινήσαμε σαν ερασιτεχνικός σταθμός στα FM (96,3 Mhz), με το χαρακτηριστικό Α905, έως και σήμερα, πάντα προσπαθούμε να προσφέρουμε στους ακροατές μουσική που θέλουν να ακούνε από ένα ραδιόφωνο. 19/02/2005 είναι η ημερομηνία που ξεκίνησε το RadioPoint και η βασική αρχή του είναι μια, να προσφέρει μουσική που θέλουν να ακούνε οι ακροατές από ένα ραδιόφωνο. Όλα αυτά συνοδεύονται από την αστείρευτη όρεξη να ενημερώνουμε την δισκοθήκη μας με ότι καλύτερο μπορούμε να βρίσκουμε. Στηριζόμενοι στην παραπάνω άποψη, το RadioPoint είναι κοντά σας με ότι καλύτερο υπάρχει στις δισκοθήκες του σε ξένη ποιοτική μουσική. Για να τη μοιραστούν μαζί σας! Καλή ακρόαση.